Who was the top goal scorer in Euro 2008?

Who was the top goal scorer in Euro 2008?

David Villa
David Villa: EURO 2008 top scorer. Watch all four goals from the Spain forward on his way to topping the scoring charts at the tournament in Austria and Switzerland.

What year did England not qualify for euros?

Four years later, England endured another group-stage exit, before going out of Euro 2004 and Euro 2012 in the quarter-finals – both times on penalties. In between those losses to Portugal and Italy, respectively, they failed to qualify for Euro 2008.

Who won Euro 2012 Golden Boot?

Fernando Torres
Fernando Torres has won the Euro 2012 Golden Boot award after scoring his third goal against Italy in the final. Spain, who ran out 4-0 winners, chose to start without a striker in the showpiece event in Kiev, with Cesc Fabregas playing in the ‘false nine’ position.

Who won last Euros?

Italy national football team
UEFA European Championship/Latest Champion
Euro 2020 FINAL HIGHLIGHTS: England denied history; Italy win in penalties. Italy continued their 34-match winning streak as it defeated England in the final of Uefa European Championship (Euro 2020) that went into a penalty shootout after a 1-1 scoreline after extra time at the Wembley Stadium in London on Monday.

Who was the winner of UEFA Euro 2008?

Jump to navigation Jump to search. The UEFA Euro 2008 Final was a football match that took place on 29 June 2008 at the Ernst-Happel-Stadion in Vienna, Austria, to determine the winner of the UEFA Euro 2008. Spain defeated Germany 1–0 with a 33rd-minute goal from Fernando Torres.

Where did Germany play in the Euro 2008?

Germany were drawn in Group B for the tournament, alongside Austria, Croatia and Poland. Their first game took place in Klagenfurt, Austria, on 8 June 2008, where they faced Poland. Lukas Podolski gave Germany after 20 minutes when he scored following a pass from a Miroslav Klose.

What was the score of the Euro final between Spain and Germany?

Spain defeated Germany 1–0 with a 33rd-minute goal from Fernando Torres. This was only the second time in European Championship history that the champions had won every match in the group stage; the other team to do so was France in 1984.

When was the last time Germany won the European Championship?

As well as winning the European Championship three times (1972, 1980, 1996), Germany have now also lost three European Championship finals (1976, 1992, 2008). With four goals, David Villa has become top scorer at Euro 2008 without having played in the final.