Who held the Senate in 2005?

Who held the Senate in 2005?

109th United States Congress
Senate Majority Republican
Senate President Dick Cheney (R)
House Majority Republican
House Speaker Dennis Hastert (R)

Who held the Senate in 2004?

2004 United States Senate elections

Leader Bill Frist Tom Daschle (lost re-election)
Party Republican Democratic
Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 1995
Leader’s seat Tennessee South Dakota
Seats before 51 48

Which party controlled the House and Senate in 2004?

The 2004 elections increased the House Republican majority, kept the Senate closely divided, and re-elected President George W.

Who was the Senate majority leader in 2005?

Majority and Minority Leaders

Senator Years Party Leader
Robert C. Byrd (D-WV) 12 1977-1989
Alben W. Barkley (D-KY) 12 1937-1949
Harry Reid (D-NV) 12 2005-2017
Robert J. Dole (R-KS) 11.5 1985-1996

Who is the Senate Majority Whip 2021?

List of party leaders

Congress Dates Republican whip
115th January 3, 2017 – January 3, 2019 John Cornyn
116th January 3, 2019 – January 3, 2021 John Thune
117th January 3, 2021 – January 20, 2021
January 20, 2021 – present

Who Won president in 2004?

2004 United States presidential election

Nominee George W. Bush John Kerry
Party Republican Democratic
Home state Texas Massachusetts
Running mate Dick Cheney John Edwards
Electoral vote 286 251

Who controlled House in 2016?

2016 United States House of Representatives elections

Leader Paul Ryan Nancy Pelosi
Party Republican Democratic
Leader since October 29, 2015 January 3, 2003
Leader’s seat Wisconsin 1st California 12th
Last election 247 seats, 51.2% 188 seats, 45.5%

How are the United States Senators in Pennsylvania elected?

Pennsylvania was assigned a Class 1 seat and Class 3 seat. Since the passage of the 17th Amendment to the Constitution in 1913, U.S. Senators are elected directly to six-year terms by the voters of each state at the general election held on Election Day.

How is the number of Senators in each state chosen?

Per the original text of the U.S. Constitution, each state was allotted two U.S. Senators selected by the state legislature for staggered six-year terms.

When was the Senate divided into three classes?

After the election of the founding members of the U.S. Senate in 1788, the Senate was divided into three groups, or “classes” (Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3) to stagger the six-year terms of its members.

How often do US senators have to be re-elected?

Per Article I, Section 3, Clause 2 of the Constitution, the founding members of Class 1 would serve two years, Class 2 four years, and Class 3 six years. All Senators elected thereafter would serve full six-year terms such that one-third of the Senate would be up for re-election every two years.