Who got Nobel Prize in 2013?

Who got Nobel Prize in 2013?

2013 Nobel Peace Prize

The 2013 Nobel Peace Prize
Presented by Norwegian Nobel Committee
Reward(s) 8 million SEK ($1.25M, €0.9M)
First awarded 1901
2013 laureate Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons

Can a doctor win a Nobel Prize?

Doctors have won the 2019 Nobel Medicine Prize for their work on cells and oxygen levels | World Economic Forum.

How do you get a Nobel Prize for Medicine?

Who is eligible for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine? Candidates eligible for the medicine prize are those nominated by nominators who have received an invitation from the Nobel Committee to submit names for consideration. No one can nominate herself or himself.

Why did Doctors Without Borders win the Nobel Peace Prize?

The judges chose MSF “in recognition of the organization’s pioneering humanitarian work on several continents” and to honor our medical staff, who have worked in more than 80 countries and treated tens of millions of people.

Who was awarded the Nobel Prize for medicine in 2013?

Thomas C. Südhof. The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2013 was awarded jointly to James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Südhof “for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells.”.

Who are the Nobel laureates in Physiology or Medicine?

This precedent was followed for the 1922 prize awarded to Archibald Hill and Otto Fritz Meyerhof in 1923, the 1926 prize awarded to Johannes Fibiger in 1927, the 1938 prize awarded to Corneille Heymans in 1939, and the 1943 prize awarded to Henrik Dam and Edward Adelbert Doisy in 1944.

When was the last time the Nobel Prize was not awarded?

There have been nine years in which the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was not awarded (1915–1918, 1921, 1925, 1940–1942). There were also five years for which the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was delayed for one year.

Why was Alfred Nobel awarded the Nobel Prize?

It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the 1895 will of Alfred Nobel (who died in 1896), awarded for outstanding contributions in chemistry, physics, literature, peace, and physiology or medicine.