What are the thirteen colonies names?

What are the thirteen colonies names?

The story journal will go in order as follows: Virginia, New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Delaware, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Georgia. Introduction to the map making of the Thirteen Original Colonies.

What are the 13 colonies in order by date?

Each link will send you to a short history further down the page.

  • Virginia/Jamestown: 1607.
  • Massachusetts: 1620.
  • New Hampshire: 1623.
  • Maryland: 1632-1634.
  • Connecticut: 1636.
  • Rhode Island: 1636.
  • Delaware: 1638.
  • North Carolina: 1663.

What was the most important colony?

Massachusetts. Much like Virginia to the South, this is the most important colony in the northern region of England’s 13 colony experiment. Originally called the Massachusetts Bay colony, this site was founded in the Plymouth area by the Massachusetts Bay Company in 1623.

What were the original 13 States of America?

the Colonies, those British colonies that formed the original 13 states of the United States: New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia.

What are the features of a state constitution?

The following is a list of the similar basic features that are found in state constitutions: Bill of Rights – All states, within their state constitutions, have a list of personal freedoms and rights, such as religion, speech, assembling together peaceably, the press, and perhaps the right to bear arms, and so forth.

What are the first words of the US Constitution?

“We the People” are the very first words in the The Constitution of the United States. “We the People …” — that means you and me. It makes no reference to race, creed, political party or geographic region of the country.

What was the first state constitution?

The First State. In Dover, Delaware, the U.S. Constitution is unanimously ratified by all 30 delegates to the Delaware Constitutional Convention, making Delaware the first state of the modern United States.