What are the 7 main classes of antibiotics?

What are the 7 main classes of antibiotics?

7 Types of Antibiotics

  • Penicillins such as penicillin and amoxicillin.
  • Cephalosporins such as cephalexin (Keflex)
  • Macrolides such as erythromycin (E-Mycin), clarithromycin (Biaxin), and azithromycin (Zithromax)
  • Fluoroquinolones such as ciprofolxacin (Cipro), levofloxacin (Levaquin), and ofloxacin (Floxin)

Can you take 2 antibiotics at once?

In most cases, you should not double the next dose of antibiotics if you’ve missed a dose. Taking a double dose of antibiotics will increase your risk of getting side effects.

What are the different types of Scrophulariaceae?

Herbaceous, or woody (Paulownia) aerial, erect. Alternate, or opposite, rarely whorled (Veronica), simple; in Limnophila leaves are dimorphic, exstipulate, margin entire, unicostate reticulate, in parasitic species leaves are reduced. Cymose or racemose, it may be spike, rarely solitary axillary (Scoparia, Striga densiflora).

How are the different types of antibiotics classified?

The main classifications are: Even though each class consists of a variety of drugs, each one is still unique in its own way. 1. Beta-Lactam Antibiotics The eldest type of antibiotics is penicillin which shares a common chemical composition as cephalosporin.

What kind of antibiotics are used for staph infections?

Antibiotics specifically treat infections caused by bacteria, such as Staph., Strep., or E. coli., and either kill the bacteria (bactericidal) or keep it from

What’s the difference between broad spectrum and narrow spectrum antibiotics?

2. Moderate spectrum: Active towards Gram Positive bacteria as well as some systemic and UTI causing Gram negative bacteria. 3. Narrow-Broad spectrum: 4. Broad spectrum: Active against Gram positive and Gram negative except Pseudomonas and Mycobacteria. 5. Anti-mycobacterial antibiotics: