What animals belong to the arachnid family?

What animals belong to the arachnid family?

The arachnids (class Arachnida) are an arthropod group that includes spiders, daddy longlegs, scorpions, mites, and ticks as well as lesser-known subgroups.

Are scorpions part of the spider family?

Both belong to the group of animals known as arthropods which have an exoskeleton like spiders, mites, ticks, centipedes, millipedes and crustaceans to name a few. Scorpions are animals in the order Scorpiones, under the class Arachnida, which makes them a distant cousin of spiders.

How many pairs of appendages do arachnids have?

6 pairs
They are characterized by having two body regions, a cephalothorax and an abdomen. They also have 6 pairs of appendages: 4 pairs of legs and 2 pairs of mouthpart appendages, the first are called chelicerae (hence, the subphylum Chelicerata). The second pair of mouthpart appendages are called pedipalps.

How many pairs of antennae do arachnids have?

2 or 3 body sections, 5 or more pairs of legs, and 2 pairs of antennae. How many body sections, pairs of legs, and pairs of antennae, do Arachnids have? 2 body sections, 4 pairs of legs, and no pairs of antennae.

What are the 11 orders of arachnids?

The eleven orders of arachnids we will be covering thus consist of the Palpigradi (microwhipscorpions), Araneae (spiders), Amblypygi (whipspiders), Thelyphonida (whip scorpions), Schizomida (schizomids), Ricinulei (ricinuleids), Acari (ticks and mites), Opiliones (harvestmen), Scorpiones (scorpions), Pseudoscorpiones ( …

What is the difference between spiders and scorpions?

Despite the similarities, there are significant differences between spiders and scorpions. Spiders have a pair of fangs that they use to inject venom. Scorpions lack fangs but instead have a stinger located at the end of their tail to inject venom. Scorpions also have a pair of pinchers which are modified pedipalps.

Why do arachnids have 8 legs?

Here’s one answer: Our ancestors – and the spiders’ ancestors – with different numbers of legs didn’t live and reproduce. 8-legged spiders and 2-legged people survived and reproduced. Spiders have 8 legs, because their ancestors had 8 legs. Spiders and horseshoe crabs evolved from the same ancestors!

What are the three orders of Arachnida?

There are 15 extant orders of arachnids: Scorpiones (true scorpions), Palpigradi (palpigrades), Solifugida (sun spiders), Uropygi (whipscorpions), Amblypygi (whipspiders), Schizomida (micro-whipscorpions), Araneae (true spiders), Pseudoscorpiones (pseudoscorpions), Ricinulei (ricinuleids), Opiliones (harvestmen), and …