Which countries are in the Baltics?

Which countries are in the Baltics?

The Baltic countries – Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania – share common features and a similar history. These three countries at the EU border with Russia regained their independence from the Soviet Union in the early nineties before joining the EU in 2004 and more recently, the euro area.

How many countries are in the Baltic region?

nine countries
There are nine countries with a shoreline at the Baltic Sea: Denmark, Germany, Poland, Russia (at the Gulf of Finland, and at the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad Oblast), Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, and Sweden. Bathymetry of the Baltic Sea map shows the ocean is in large parts quite shallow (light blue).

Is Norway in the Baltic?

The countries that have shorelines along the Baltic Sea: Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Finland, Germany, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, and Sweden. Members of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS), are the countries with shorelines along the Baltic Sea, in addition to Norway, Iceland and the European Commission.

Are the Baltic countries safe?

Generally all Baltic States are safe and secure but as it can be in larger cities visitors should watch out for pickpockets working in public places, such as on crowded public transport or in markets and other touristy spots.

What are Nordic and Baltic countries?

The NB6 (Nordic–Baltic Six) format comprises Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania and Sweden. The NB6 was established upon the accession of Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania to the European Union on 1 May 2004.

Who owns Baltic Sea?

The Baltic Sea is an arm of the Atlantic Ocean, enclosed by Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the North and Central European Plain. The sea stretches from 53°N to 66°N latitude and from 10°E to 30°E longitude.

What’s the difference between Nordic and Baltic?

The Baltic countries are the three young Baltic republics of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. All three countries lie on the Baltic sea (hence the name) along with Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Poland, and Russia. Neither the Baltic countries nor Greenland is considered Scandinavian or Nordic.

Is Estonia Nordic or Baltic?

As a “Baltic” country, Estonia has many links with Scandinavian regions, through cultural, political, economic, and historical ties. A regular political dialogue and cooperative language is common between the Nordic and Baltic countries, and around 55% of Estonians also classify themselves as “Nordic” in some cases.

What countries are in the Baltic region?

There are three countries in the region known as the Baltic States. They are Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. However, the Baltic Sea borders many more countries, such as Finland, Russia, Sweden and Poland. There are three countries in the region known as the Baltic States.

What is the largest Baltic country in Europe?

With an area of 65,300 sq. km, a population of about 2.8 million people, Lithuania is the largest and the most populous of the three Baltic Republics. Smoothed by glacier retreat during the last Ice Age, Lithuania is mostly flat lowlands in the west, with some low hills.

What to see in Baltic states?

Top 10 Places to See in the Baltic States 10. AHHAA Science Centre, Tartu, Estonia 9. The Hill of Crosses , Lithuania 8. Jurmala , Latvia 7. Basilica of the Assumption, Aglona, Latvia 6. Narva Castle , Estonia 5. Cesis , Latvia 4. The Curonian Spit, Lithuania 3. Tallinn, Estonia 2. Riga , Latvia 1. Vilnius , Lithuania

Is Russia a Baltic country?

Russians in the Baltic states describes self-identifying ethnic Russians and other primary Russian-speaking communities in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, commonly referred to collectively as the Baltic states.