What does the Department of Justice and Equality do?

What does the Department of Justice and Equality do?

The Department of Justice works to advance community and national security, promote justice and equality and safeguard human rights, to achieve our vision of a safe, fair and inclusive Ireland.

What does Minister for justice do?

The Minister’s and the Department’s main areas of responsibility include: Implementing government policy and proposing new policy on crime, immigration, asylum, criminal and civil law reform and the criminal justice system in general.

Who are the current ministers in Ireland?

Current Government of Ireland

Cabinet ministers
Office Name Party
Taoiseach Micheál Martin Fianna Fáil
Tánaiste Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment Leo Varadkar Fine Gael
Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe Fine Gael

Who is Oonagh Mcphillips?

He was appointed Secretary General in the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine in January 2015 and later as Secretary General in the Department of Justice & Equality in 2018. He has served as a member of the Civil Service Management Board since January 2015.

What 5 agencies are under the Department of Justice?

The mission of the Office of the Attorney General is to supervise and direct the administration and operation of the Department of Justice, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Drug Enforcement Administration, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Bureau of Prisons, Office of Justice Programs.

What is the address of the Department of Justice?

950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Who is the Minister of Justice of Eswatini?

Justice Pholile Shakantu
Minister of Justice Pholile Shakantu… – Eswatini Government | Facebook.

Who is the head of the Ministry of justice?

The current secretary of state for justice is Dominic Raab since his demotion from the role of Foreign Secretary by Prime Minister Boris Johnson, in September 2021.

Does Ireland have a government?

Parliamentary system
Unitary stateLiberal democracyParliamentary republicConstitutional republic

Who is in charge Ireland?

Republic of Ireland

Ireland Éire (Irish)
Government Unitary parliamentary republic
• President Michael D. Higgins
• Taoiseach Micheál Martin
• Tánaiste Leo Varadkar

Who is the secretary-general of Ireland?

The Secretary-General to the President is the senior Irish civil servant who fulfils four distinct roles in relation to the office of the President of Ireland. The current incumbent is Orla O’Hanrahan who was appointed in May 2021.

Who is the previous Secretary-General of the UN?


name country of origin period of service
Boutros Boutros-Ghali Egypt Jan. 1, 1992–Dec. 31, 1996
Kofi Annan Ghana Jan. 1, 1997–Dec. 31, 2006
Ban Ki-Moon South Korea Jan. 1, 2007–Dec. 31, 2016
António Guterres Portugal Jan. 1, 2017–